Skip to content

Character in the NFL

April 27, 2010

Colleen Raezler has a piece up at Newsbusters about Tim Tebow and character in the NFL. That is something the NFL lacks to a disturbing degree. I understand it’s a business, but you can’t conduct a sound business without character. NFL players get away with things that would get me fired in a flash. But they are “heroes” and they are role models to so many, that the behavior is often excused by “the pressure” of being a pro athlete.

Give me a friggin’ break.

I’d love to have the pressure of making tens of millions of dollars per year to play A GAME. How about the pressure of know that if something happens to your job, you lose your house and your cars?

I admire Tim Tebow. Is he overrated? Maybe. Is he conceited, arrogant, and overbearing? I have no idea; I’ve never met him. I do know that he is slammed, to a great extent, because he is a Christian and doesn’t hide that fact. I find it humorous that he is accused of trying to “ram his religion down peoples throats” just for putting Bible verses in his eye black. Hey, why don’t you turn the channel if you don’t want to see it. That’s what I do when T.O. is on.

I think the NFL needs more players like Tim Tebow. The fans need him.

From → Religion, Sports

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

