Skip to content

Health Care “Reform”

March 22, 2010

So, we now have health care “reform” in the United States. Oh wait – most of it doesn’t take effect for about four years, so I guess we still don’t really have reform. I wonder why?

One of the things that bothers me most about this bill is that it will require people to purchase health insurance or face fines. This is simply unconstitutional. A citizen should not be required to purchase a product or service due to their status as a citizen. I suppose illegal aliens will still be covered, even without a mandated insurance purchase. Oh, before you start in about auto insurance, remember that no one is forced to buy a vehicle.

Another thing that bothers me is the cost. There is no way this mess is deficit neutral or is capable of saving money. You can guarantee that any cost estimate is off by a factor of between five and ten. Somehow, I doubt that middle class Americans will be unaffected by this insofar as their taxes are concerned.

One thing that should bother everyone is the fact that the same entity who runs the IRS, Medicare, Medicaid, and the VA are going to be more involved than ever in health care. This is not good. Government bureaucracies are never efficient and rarely accurate in anything they do.

I won’t say there’s nothing good about this legislation – preexisting condition coverage and the removal of lifetime limits are good things. These are also things proposed in other reform packages that did not involve increasing the size and power of government in the health care arena. Republicans (and others) had proposed legislation that would have provided those without coverage a means to obtain insurance. There were many ideas, but basically it involved tax subsidies for people to use toward the purchase of private insurance.

Finally, I have gotten quite a bit of feedback on comments and links I’ve posted to my Facebook page. I have been accused of “spreading fear and hate” simply because I think there are better ways to solve the health care problems in this country. I have been chastised with Luke 10:33-35 (the good Samaritan). It’s a funny thing, but I don’t think Jesus was calling governments to be charitable and help their fellow man – I think he was calling on people to do so. Passing legislation which raises taxes is not being charitable. You cannot be charitable with another person’s money. That is using the force of government to make people pay. If I turned around and used statements in the Bible to condemn abortion, then I would hear cries about the supposed “separation of church and state”. I would be told that I cannot force my private beliefs on others via the government.

Here’s the bottom line. I want to help citizens of this country get the insurance coverage they need if they want it and truly cannot get it. The number of people in that category is much smaller than the 30 million or so being talked about now. {It was 47 million a few months ago – what happened to those 17 million people?} No one should be forced to buy insurance who doesn’t want it.

All these people who say we should help those in need and it’s “only a little bit more” should volunteer to pay more taxes on their own, especially the celebrities who are always carrying on about what we should provide for people.  These folks make millions of dollars on movies and music – I wonder how much insurance could be purchased if half of the celebrities in this country volunteered half of their net profits to the cause? If I had millions of dollars, I would like to think that I could find a few people needing insurance and take care of them.

If what I have written here means I am spreading hate, then I guess I misunderstood the definition of the word.

3 Comments
  1. i genuinely enjoy your posting taste, very helpful.
    don’t quit as well as keep posting simply because it simply just worth to follow it,
    excited to look into far more of your posts, kind regards 😉

  2. State governments require you to buy auto insurance or face fines. Are you for repealing this?

  3. Jeff permalink

    Owning a car is not a requirement of citizenship, so neither is car insurance. The health care bill requires one to purchase insurance just because they are a citizen.

Leave a Reply

