Skip to content

Proud to be an American

January 20, 2009

Recently, I have been hearing a lot of people proclaim their sudden pride to be an American. I know many of them were ashamed to be Americans all or part of the last eight years, but not me.

You see, I have always been proud to be an American. I am proud no matter who is president or what is going on in the country. Yes, there are individual Americans of whom I am not proud, but that doesn’t take away from the pride I have in my country.

Contrary to what some people are saying these days, America didn’t become a great nation when Barack Obama was elected. America has always been a great nation. No other country has done has much good for the rest of the world. No other country has freed so many people. No other country gives the way American does, especially its private citizens.

Are we perfect? Certainly not; but we are closer to perfection than any other country in the history of this world. I am proud that even though we are not perfect, we still strive to do what’s right, even when we fail.

Yes, I am proud to be an American today for it is an historic occasion. We have done something I honestly didn’t think would happen in my lifetime. I understand the significance of the occasion and I am glad to be alive to see it.

I am proud to be an American; an American who still chokes up when I sing ‘The Star Spangled Banner’ or watch a bald eagle fly or see the flag unfurled in the breeze or hear ‘Taps’ or read a story about a brave soldier giving his life. I am proud of the fact that every four or eight years, we peacefully transfer the power of the president, the leader of the most powerful nation in the history of the world. It is an astonishing thing to witness.

I am proud to be an American not just today and not just because we have elected a black man to the highest office in the land. I am proud because we are, as Lincoln said, “the last best hope of earth” and, as Reagan said, that “shining city on a hill”.

We are the United States of America.

Be proud of that, always.

From → America

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

